JK Brackens

Founded 1992

Co. Tipperary

Great win for U-15's

Download our mobile app to hear more about JK Brackens.

See More

Congratulations all around to our U-15 ( Team 2 ) footballers who captured the County D football title in Thurles this morning. Backed by a stiff breeze in the opening half Brackens dominated possession but found scores hard to come by. Liam Collins got the scoreboard moving with two points before Shane Leahy found the net to put us five up. Moyle Rovers opened their account with a point before Ewan Patterson replied with one of his own. But the South Champions were growing into the game and reduced the deficit to four with another point. And when they were awarded a penalty just before the break they had a great chance to reduced the gap before turning to play with the breeze. But joint captain Donnchadh Broderick made the first of a string of fine saves to deny Moyle Rovers and leave us 1-3 to 0-2 ahead at the break. Brackens got a huge tonic at the start of the second half with a goal and a point from Collins but Moyle Rovers replied in kind and were beginning to dominate possession. Brackens rode their luck at times in front of goals but when they did break out they were very effective on the counter attack. A fine move involving Ryan Stone, Ewan Patterson, Shane Leahy and Oscar Duggan finished with Collins second goal to give us some breathing space at the second water break. However two majors reduced the gap to two points but Broderick and his defence stood firm in the face of incessant pressure. Another point from Patterson put us three up and when one last Moyle Rovers attack was repelled the day belonged to Brackens. While Donnchadh Broderick will be remembered for his saves the defence of Robert Crampton, Callum Patterson, Joe Foy, Cian Broderick and Tommy Burke deserve great credit for their efforts under immense pressure. Ryan Stone, Shane Leahy and Ewan Patterson worked tirelessly in the middle third while up front Liam Collins with 2-3 was the main scoring threat. The forwards worked very well as a unit however and the contributions of Oscar Duggan, Bill Finn, David Prout and VJ Corpez were vital in victory. Well done to all involved and to the management team of Michael Prout, Caroline Broderick, James Farrelly, Anthony Marnell, PJ Corcoran, Shane Scully and Willie Whelan.

Download ClubZap

Get live information for Club on the ClubZap App

App Store Google Play