JK Brackens

Founded 1992

Co. Tipperary

Intermediates hold off Moyle Rovers

Download our mobile app to hear more about JK Brackens.

See More

A Sunday evening trip to Boherlahan brought our second football success in twenty four hours as our Intermediates defeated Moyle Rovers in the opening round of the County Championship. Due to injuries and holidays Brackens were stretched for numbers with only sixteen fit players available for duty. They started very brightly however with the Clonmore contingent of Tadhg Nolan, Jack Bergin and Martin Bergin (2) giving us a four point lead early on. The South boys replied with two of their own before landing the games opening goal to go one up. A James Corcoran free tied the scores at the first water break. Brackens plight worsened as they lost Jack Nevin to an ankle injury while Conor Sheedy was severly hampered by a hamstring problem. Brian Roche was introduced for Nevin and he turned the game on its head in the second quarter. He landed a goal and a point within quick succession before being hauled down foe a penalty on the stroke of half-time. James Corcoran duly converted and Darragh Doyle added a point to leave us 2-7 to 1-5 ahead at the break. Down to the bare fifteen and facing into the breeze the second half was going to be tough. Moyle Rovers dominated the third quarter and landed 1-2 to tie up the game at the second water break. But the lads fought like tigers, hung in there and James Corcoran finished a great move to nudge us ahead. The same player landed a free to double the lead and when Danny Lyne was sent to the line for Moyle Rovers up stepped the evergreen James Farrelly to land a cracking free from wide on the right hand side. The cheers were deafening. A late charge from the South boys closed the gap to the minimum but the backs stood firm to claim an excellent victory. A victory borne out of courage, hard work and no little skill great credit is due to this bunch this evening. It's what club is all about.

JK Brackens 2-10 Moyle Rovers 2-9

Teams and Scorers: James Farrelly (0-1) Cian McDonnell Conor Sheedy Patrick Moloney Tadhg Nolan (0-1) Jack Prout Jack Bergin (0-1) Diarmuid Delaney James Corcoran (1-3, 1-o pen, 1f) Jack Nevin Niall Moloney Eddie Bergin Stephen Cahill Darragh Doyle (0-1) Martin Bergin (0-2). Sub: Brian Roche for Nevin (1-1).

Download ClubZap

Get live information for Club on the ClubZap App

App Store Google Play